Fourth Annual Conductors Workshop at Queens College New York City June 22 – July 5, 2014

Fourth Annual Conductors Workshop at Queens College
New York City
June 22 – July 5, 2014
Directed by Maestro Maurice Peress, this workshop is being offered to aspiring and working conductors alike to help build upon their experience and sharpen their orchestral skills.
Student Conductors will study with Maestros Maurice Peress, Donald Portnoy, Dorothy Savitch, and George Rothman along with three guest composers. Podium time is guaranteed every day, giving every participant the chance to work regularly with a professional-level, highly responsive orchestra. Student Conductors will conduct the Workshop Orchestra in the mornings, and receive critiques, coaching, and hands-on lessons from the faculty in the afternoons.
New works will be performed each session with the composers present, helping to give insight into what the composers expect to see as their scores come to life. All the sessions will be videotaped. David Amram and Bruce Saylor will again return this summer.
Aside from the invaluable podium time, there will be almost daily lectures dealing with the many issues that face conductors today. Among them, Maestro Portnoy will discuss working and building relationships with professional, college, and community orchestras and career development, as well as his insights into orchestral bowing choices. Maestro Peress will discuss “time” in all its aspects: time flow, rhythm, tempo, pulse, and the metronome, yea or nay. Guest composers will discuss their scores in detail. Field trips have been arranged to the Dvořák Room at the historic Czech Center to view original documents and artifacts that underscore the story of Dvořák’s time in America, and to the New York Philharmonic Archives, where marked scores by former NYPhil music directors will be placed on view.
String Orchestra:
-Gershwin, Lullaby for Strings
-Tchaikovsky, Serenade for Strings
-Corigliano, Voyage
-Amram, Selection TBA
Chamber Orchestra:
-Mozart, Flute Concerto in G
-Copland, Appalachian Spring (chamber version)
-Beethoven, Symphony No. 6
-Saylor, Selection to be announced
Full Orchestra:
-Debussy, Nocturnes (Movements 1 and 2)
-Bartok, Concerto for Orchestra (Movements 3 and 4)
-Ellington, Suite from Black, Brown and Beige
-Composer and new work TBA
Conductors – $1600
Auditors – $1200
Applications accepted until May 15, 2014 or until the class of 20 conductors is complete.
Submit application, resume, letter of recommendation, and videos by mail or electronically. Please visit our website for requirements and more information.
Alex Wen, manager


About this entry