The second annual Summer Choral Symposium will take place in Aix-en-Provence in June 2015, this time with a one-week (June 27 – July 4, 2015) program for “SINGING PARTICIPANTS.”

The second annual Summer Choral Symposium will take place in Aix-en-Provence in June 2015, this time with a one-week (June 27 – July 4, 2015) program for “SINGING PARTICIPANTS.”

A more intense two-week (June 20 – July 4, 2015) program for “CHORAL SCHOLARS,” and a unique opportunity for “conducting scholars” who are seeking podium time with an outstanding choir, with additional studies in score study and rehearsal technique.

The “Conducting Scholars” component of the 2015 Symposium will provide opportunities for up to six conductors at the intermediate or advanced levels.  The emphasis of seminar and coaching sessions will focus on contextualizing theoretical and musicological concepts into stategies for fully engaging the choral musician – through gesture, aural acuity, and rehearsal technique.

The symposium chorus is made up of resident Choral Scholars for the first week (June 20 – 26), then augmented by Singing Participants in the second week (June 27 – July 4). All singers are selected by audition; a process that involves submitting an online video. Admission to the program is granted on the basis of choral experience, vocal ability, and ultimately, the need to create a balanced ensemble.

The resident Choral Scholars will focus on virtuosic choral repertoire representing the last five-hundred years of the choral tradition. Singers selected for this program should possess outstanding aural and sight-reading skills along with sufficient ensemble experience to work effectively with Conducting Scholars in rehearsal and performance. The Choral Scholars rehearse daily, culminating in concert appearances in Aix-en-Provence and Marseille.

Learn more at

“It’s been almost a month since I returned home from the 2014 Delaware Choral Academy, and I wish I were going back TOMORROW!  The is easily one of the most enjoyable trips I’ve ever taken, and one that has given me many truly memorable moments, both through the music we made, and the time spent together! I loved being in Aix.  It was a great city, perfectly-sized and oriented for exploring and enjoying on foot.”

– Chris from Delaware

“Why travel to France to indulge in some musical soul rejuvenation? Because you sing in the streets and people love you. To smell the lavender and eat baguettes. To sing music in the churches that they were actually written for, alongside old friends and new, all the while immersing yourself into the French culture. It’s an unforgettable experience that would not be possible without the alignment of people, place and of course, the collective power of music.”

– Stephanie from Connecticut

“This choir grew and progressed faster than any choir I have ever been a part of.  Everyone was committed 100% to the music, to each other, and to the conductors.  Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would have as many moments of “Chorale Magic” as I did on this trip, simply because how could I expect that many in 11 days?”

– James from New Jersey

“If I had to use one word to sum up my experience at the Delaware Choral Symposium, it would have to be “refreshing.” My two weeks in France proved to be so incredibly important to me not only as a musician but as a person as well. Life slowed down for me in Aix… Finding a feeling of peace through immersing myself in only a couple of things about which I am very passionate (singing, teaching, and conducting) was like a wake-up call for me”

– Aimee from Pennsylvania

“Still enjoying processing thoughts and memories of my time at the Symposium. Such a powerful experience of music and learning, great camaraderie and intense musicality.”

– Wayne from Massachussetts

About this entry