Choral Conducting Master Course Legendary Maestro of European Choral Conducting – Dénes Szabó

Choral Conducting Master Course

Legendary Maestro of European Choral Conducting – Dénes Szabó

Dénes Szabó

  • A leading light in Hungarian choral music, who demonstrates Zoltán Kodály’s and Béla Bartók music in the most genuine way
  • Owns dozens of records
  • Under his baton, Cantemus Choirs and Pro Musica Girls’ Choir have attained over 50 world-champion titles
  • The winner of the European Grand Prix
  • Granted Hungarian Cultural Heritage Award in 2004

As the first Conducting Master Course in 2013 Hong Kong International Youth and Children’s Choir Festival received wide acclaims from conductors and choral lovers, we invite Dénes SZABÓ, one of the world most sought-after European maestros, to conduct the master course and Pro Musica Girls’ Choir as the lab choir in the 2015 event again. Not only will participants get valuable opportunities to work with this world-class choir, active participants will conduct the Pro Musica Girls’ Choir and perform in the graduation mini concert.

Dénes SZABÓ was born in Makó, Hungary in 1947 and is a tremendous figure in Hungarian and international choral world. He studied music in Szeged, Miskolc and Budapest and subsequently began his teaching career at the Zoltán Kodály Primary School in Nyíregyháza. He founded the Cantemus Children’s Choir in 1975 which later developed into a choral institute and began to operate as an independent artistic organization with three choirs in 2004. Under his baton, the choirs have won numbers of awards and championships in different important international choral contests, which made him an authority of the Kodály method.

In recognition of his artistic achievements and dedicated work in music education, Dénes SZABÓ was awarded the Ferenc Liszt-prize in 1985, the Bartók Béla – Pásztory Ditta Prize in 1993, the Kossuth Prize in 2000 and the Hungarian Cultural Heritage prize in 2004. Lately, he received the Artist of the Nation Award in 2013 and 2014 consecutively.

Application Form can be found at


About this entry