The University of Oregon Summer Conducting Institute 2015

The University of Oregon Summer Conducting Institute is designed for eight experienced, pre-professonal conductors to learn how to better use both musical creativity and gesture to get more of what you want from the orchestra. Master teacher Neil Varon from the Eastman School of Music will show participants how to achieve both technical and musical clarity to their beat. There will be piano/string quintet sessions and two full orchestra sessions. Dr. David Jacobs, Director of Orchestral Studies at the University of Oregon will assist Maestro Varon and give a one-on-one debriefing session to each participant during the course.

Applicants who not offered participant status are encouraged to attend as auditors. Auditors may observe all podium sessions and participate fully in all lectures. Auditors may also have some one-on-one contact with the workshop faculty as the schedule permits. First time workshop attendees and those who are considering graduate conducting studies are particularly encouraged to attend as auditors to gain valuable workshop experience.

Each conducting participant will receive ample podium time between both piano/string quintet sessions and the two full orchestra sessions. Participants will be video recorded, so please bring a high-speed SD card to ensure quality. Expect to play your primary instrument during string quintet/piano sessions when not conducting.

“I thought that I would be expanding my gestural vocabulary, I didn’t realize the workshop would revolutionize how I approach being a musician as a whole.” – 2013 Participant

“I learned so many little tips and tricks that improved my technique, but what I am really taking away from this workshop is an attitude in approaching the orchestra that I find compelling, and that this new understanding will allow me to be compelling to the players I work with.”  – 2014 Participant

“Cost, podium time, teachers, quality of orchestra, all make this a very good workshop to attend.” – 2013 Participant

“The camaraderie and the vibe among the participants was excellent — I made several fast friends!” – 2014 Participant

For more information or to apply, please visit

About this entry