NEW YORK CONDUCTING WORKSHOP – Chamber Orchestra of New York (Limited Openings)


Chamber Orchestra of New York

Professional orchestra

Limited Participant and Auditor openings available


With celebrated Maestros John Farrer & Dirk Brossé; Maestro Salvatore Di Vittorio, Artistic Director

All Applicants become candidates of THE RESPIGHI PRIZE IN CONDUCTING. Winner conducts at Carnegie Hall!

Our program has been founded in collaboration with the prestigious London Conducting Workshop. We offer conductors of all ages the opportunity to reflect, discuss and refine their podium experiences with veteran mentor conductors.

The workshop will include a maximum of 20 participating conductors, and an additional number of auditors. Each participating conductor will receive regular podium time, and is required to attend every session, rehearsal and concert(s). Ensembles include string orchestra for the first two days, and the chamber orchestra for the third day. (Candidates on the waiting list receive first refusal on any place that becomes available.)

The New York Conducting Workshop will be held at the Adelphi University Performing Arts Center (AUPAC) in Long Island on June 1-6, with concert at Carnegie Hall on June 8th as follows:

Workshop Sessions, June 1-3
Orchestral Rehearsals (involves Winner conductor), June 5-6
Dress Rehearsal & Concert, June 8th at Carnegie Hall’s Weill Hall

All candidates, participants and auditors, are required to attend all events. Exact times of sessions will be shared via email with all confirmed candidates. Complimentary tickets for all conductors (both participants and auditors) will be given for both concerts above.

All Participants automatically become candidates of THE RESPIGHI PRIZE IN CONDUCTING. The winner will be able to conduct a single movement work or selected movement(s) of a strings work at the orchestra’s season finale concert at Carnegie Hall’s Weill Hall on June 8, 2017.

Orchestral Repertoire:

Grieg, Holberg Suite
Dvorak, Serenade for strings
Respighi, Ancient Airs and Dances No. 3
Mozart, Adagio and Fugue
Mozart, Symphony No. 29

For more information, please visit our web-page which includes a downloadable application with guidelines:

Please send any questions to


About this entry