Twelve young conductors (and among them two women) have passed the first stage of the Tenth Edition of the International Competition of Conducting “Arturo Toscanini.”

The selection committee, chaired by Rosetta Cucchi, artistic director of the Fondazione Arturo Toscanini, after the passing of Maestro Alberto Zedda on March 6, recently announced the contestants admitted to the first phase of the three-year competition, upon examination of the video of 159 candidates aged 18 to 34, belonging to 34 different countries (twelve of whom were women).

They were chosen:
Cha Woong (Korea)
Yuga Cohler (USA)
Nicolas Ellis (Canada)
Andreas Hjort Eriksson (Sweden)
Farhad Mahani (Iran)
Ciaran Mcauley (Ireland)
Vincenzo Milletarì (Italy)
Anna Rakitina (Russia)
Dawid Runtz ( Poland)
Kleanthe Russo (Italy)
Lena-Lisa Wustendorfer (Switzerland)
Valentino Alfredo Zangara (Italy).

The four reserve candidates are: Stijn Berkouwer (Netherlands), Michele Spotti (Italy), Johannes Marszovsky (Germany) and Piero Lombardi Iglesias (Spain).

The Toscanini Foundation thanks on this occasion the Maestro Gianluigi Gelmetti, conductor of the best known internationally for having generously accepted, albeit with such short notice, the Chair of the Competition, which takes place this year within the Celebrations for the 150th anniversary of Arturo Toscanini’s birth.

The preliminary stage of the competition will be held between May 29 and June 1 in the new Sala Gavazzeni of the CPM Toscanini, the new headquarters of the Foundation. The finals, for four candidates, will be held at the Auditorium Paganini in Parma – between 23 and 28 October – and culminate in three concerts open to the public: the semi-finals on Wednesday 25 and Thursday, October 26 with music by, among others, Brahms, Schumann, Beethoven, Dvořák, and the finals which will take place Saturday, October 28 with music by Tchaikovsky and Verdi.


About this entry